August 01, 2019

Harris, Feinstein, Senate Democrats Unveil Resolution To Save Pre-Existing Condition Protections From Harmful Trump Administration Rule Pushing Junk Plans

Senate Democrats To Trump Administration: Stop Your Health Care Sabotage, Stop Your Attacks On Americans With Pre-Existing Conditions

WASHINGTON, D.C.— U.S. Senators Kamala D. Harris (D-CA) and Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) on Wednesday joined Senator Mark Warner (D-VA) and every Senate Democrat in unveiling a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution that would roll back the 1332 waiver rule, another Trump Administration effort to sabotage Americans’ health care and another attack on the 130 million Americans who rely on the critical pre-existing condition protections the administration is trying to eliminate.  The rule, if left in place, would allow states to greenlight substandard, junk insurance plans that don’t fully protect people with pre-existing conditions, don’t cover essential health benefits like prescription drugs and maternity coverage, and raise costs on many American families. Under the Congressional Review Act, this resolution must be considered within 60 legislative days of July 15 and can pass the Senate with the support of a simple majority of Senators.  

“Time and time again, this administration has attempted to strip away protections for the millions of Americans with pre-existing conditions, and their latest attempt to sell junk health care plans is no different,” said Senator Harris. “Enough is enough. Congress must take a stand.”

“The administration wants to take us back to the days when health plans were allowed to offer no real coverage for pre-existing conditions or essential services like maternity care,“ said Senator Feinstein. “This attempt to weaken the Affordable Care Act puts Americans at risk and threatens to raise insurance costs for millions. I’m pleased to cosponsor this resolution to protect access to affordable coverage and basic care for all.”

In addition to Harris, Feinstein, and Warner, the resolution is co-sponsored by every Senate Democrat:  Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR), Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL), Senator Jack Reed (D-RI), Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Senator Tom Carper (D-DE), Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD), Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Senator Bob Casey (D-PA), Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Senator Jon Tester (D-MT), Senator Tom Udall (D-NM), Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Senator Mark Warner (D-VA), Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Senator Michael Bennet (D-CO), Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV), Senator Chris Coons (D-DE), Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI), Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT), Senator Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Senator Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Senator Angus King (I-ME), Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA), Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Senator Ed Markey (D-MA), Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ), Senator Gary Peters (D-MI), Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Senator Tina Smith (D-MN), Senator Doug Jones (D-AL), Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), and Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV).

The following organizations support the resolution: National Multiple Sclerosis Society, American Heart Association, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Pulmonary Hypertension Association, Mended Little Hearts, Hemophilia Federation of America, Chronic Disease Coalition, American Diabetes Association, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, National Organization for Rare Disorders, WomenHeart: the National Coalition for Women with Heart Disease, Susan G. Komen, Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation, COPD Foundation, Muscular Dystrophy Association, National Hemophilia Foundation, Arthritis Foundation, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, National Psoriasis Foundation, Alpha-1 Foundation, ALS Association, National Alliance on Mental Illness, Immune Deficiency Foundation, March of Dimes, American Liver Foundation, National Health Council, National Patient Advocate Foundation, Protect Our Care, and the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship.