Am I eligible for Unemployment Insurance?
- The CARES Act temporarily expands unemployment insurance to cover individuals who are not traditionally covered, including the self-employed, gig-workers, independent contractors, and workers with irregular work history.
- It also expands the criteria for claiming unemployment insurance to include many reasons related to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- To determine if you’re eligible, please visit California’s Unemployment Insurance website by clicking here.
How much money will I receive from Unemployment Insurance?
- The exact amount you receive depends on your past wages. However, between now and July 31, an additional $600 will be added to every unemployment compensation check, so no one will receive less than $600 per week.
- The minimum unemployment compensation check in California is $40, so those filing in California will receive at least $640.
How do I file for Unemployment Insurance?
- Californians can file for unemployment insurance through our state’s unemployment office. You can do so online by clicking here.
This page was last updated on April 3, 2020.